Suspended License in Parker, Colorado

suspended drivers license in Parker Colorado
suspended drivers license

In Colorado, an individual can have his or her license suspended under certain conditions including going over points on driving record, refusing chemical test for suspected DUI, being over the legal limit for DUI test, failure to pay traffic tickets, and failure to pay child support. The consequences may vary depending on the severity of the case.

If a driver goes over the points on his driving record, he will have his license temporarily suspended. Drivers under the age of 18 can lose their license if they lose 6 points in 6 months or 7 points before they are 18. Drivers from the ages of 18-20 can lose their license if they lose 9 points in 12 months, 12 points in 24 months, or 14 points or more between the ages 18-21. Drivers over the age of 21 will likely lose their license if they lose 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months.

After the suspension time is served, the driver must have evidence of current liability insurance with their name on the policy. The last thing for the driver to do is pay a $95.00 reinstatement fee. After completing these three things, the driver is able to get his license back.

When a citizen refuses the chemical test for a suspected DUI, it is seen as an act that proves guilt. Refusing the chemical tests will result in the same charge that would be applied if the test was positive. However, drivers who show up positive in a chemical test are able to fight the charges, possibly resulting in a less serious charge like a DWAI (driving while ability impaired).

Fighting for a lesser charge is worth the battle. The charge of DUI can be a lot more serious than a DWAI. A DUI penalty will result in the loss of 12 points from a driver’s record, while a DWAI will result in the loss of 8 points on a driver’s record. While losing 12 points is an automatic suspension, losing 8 points makes it still possible for the driver to stay on the road as long as the driver had less than 4 points taken from their record prior to their DWAI. In order for the driver to become reinstated, they must complete a state-wide and state-approved alcohol course.

Having a suspended license can be very stressful without proper guidance. It can affect a person’s job, family, and social life. If you or someone you know needs legal guidance along the way to getting their suspended license back, contact us for legal assistance.